January 4, 2007

  • the procrastinator

    i don’t know why i make such a chore of updating my blog. i avoid it like it’s work or something…
    but now the holidays are over and i’m back to work, so now is as good a time as any. 
    I’ve had so little time for art lately. I’ve had so little time for anything really. time just keeps whizzing past me and i don’t know where it’s gone and my feet can’t seem to reach the brake pedals.
    I’m starting back to school this year. I’m going to do a degree at the open university which lets you study mostly from home, which is good because i certainly don’t have time to go to a traditional university.  My goal is to become a teacher over here in england. but first i have to figure out how the hell they teach math over here. it’s certainly not the way that i learned it! i don’t think that teachers really get the freedom that they used to, i think that they pretty much have to teach what they’re told…..which is probably why education isn’t as good as it used to be…i suppose i’ll learn all that eventually, but first i have to get a UK degree, and then i can apply to a teacher training qualification course.
    i’m antsy, and i need change…..i hate the fact that it’s going to take so long, i’m not used to thinking in the long term, i’ll always been more of a “live in the here and now” person…but i guess that only works for so long…now i’ve actually got to plan something out and work towards it…i’m sure that i can, it will just be a long slow process.

    ah well, there you have it! and update from me :)
    I hope you all have had a brilliant start to the new year and that it just gets better from here on out!

Comments (13)

  • Bloody hell ! You blogged !

    I don’t think that any job really has the freedom it used to have. Damn, doubledamn and thricedamn paperwork !

    Good luck on the course !

  • Good luck!  I think having a goal is a good thing.  I always set them and it keeps me moving forward. 

  • Goals!  Go for it!
    I miss you honey.

  • Mah hunnie!!! Gawd have I missed you. I think about you so often. I raised a glass and toasted you this Christmas and New Years too. I think you’ll make a great teacher. Good luck with that endevor. I’ve been really trying to post a little more these days too. I think as many years as some of have been out here, it’s normal to go through the posting and non posting phases. It was great to hear from you. I love you and miss you even more. *HUGS*

  • Yes, you ARE a procrastinator, aren’t you? *giggle* It’s SO great to see you typing when you do get around to it. And I have a challenge for you… assuming you actually DO want to blog more: blog about what it is that makes you feel like you need to put on the brakes right now.

    ;)

    I am sending many positive thoughts your way. I hope that things are improving and that your process of going to school to become a teacher provides you with enough change in your daily life to be interesting for you. I have a feeling that it will. Universities have a nice way of being variable and keeping interest in that way for many people. I wish you the best and great success with this! It sounds like FUN, too!

    Sorcia

  • As an OpenUni graduate myself, I’d be full of stupid advice for you, but I’ll hold back; the only advice I will proffer is that whilst it’s “working from home”, you really do need to get to all the tutorials/meetings/etc you can to work out what the heck’s going on.

    Good luck!

  • I’m green with envy all around – you going back to school to be a teacher…but in England! The most wonderful country on earth. I’m stuck across the pond and am yearing to be back in England. Good luck with the open university…and it’s a perfect topic to blog about, too! Even if it’s only a few lines here and there.

  • Good luck Tracy for the degree than the teaching training . Without any doubt it will be easy for you to get this .

     I wish all the best for you for this year 2007 that looks important .

    Love                   MICHEL

  • I hope you are well…I am sure you are. I know what you mean about blogging. I have things to say, but then feel it’s only fair to read all of my readers, and of course, I want to, and I need to spend more time creating the time to do it, which is why I’m doing it now. I might only be by every once in a blue moon, but I do think of you, especially when I look at your art in my living room. All you want will happen. I have a good feeling about this. -Kate

  • I dont even understand math here…:(…maybe you can come back to the states and be my private tutor…!!! Hoorah!

  • But.. but… where’s the PICTURES?!?!?! I misssss youuuu!!!

    I have no doubt that you’ll be an amazing teacher – you have such an inquisitive nature, and enjoy learning, so that will transfer itself beautifully to helping others enjoy learning. I think you’ll be great at it

  • BTW, I’m going to ask (at last!) but I know I’m going to be disappointed and find out it’s Akron.. but where are the beautiful fields you’ve used in the below shots? They’re so lovely, I’ve been wanting to go find them since I saw the first image.

  • Happiest Valentine’s Day!!!
    much hugs and kisses
    mrkool

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *