February 28, 2007

  • stop the dolphin slaughtering in japan

    omg…i was watching the news last night and saw the most horrendous
    footage i have ever seen….the japanese slaughtering over 17,000 taiji
    dolphins a year for human and dog consumption…they round up all these
    dolphins in huge nets and then pull them out of the water and slit
    their throats, or spear them to death……i don’t think i’ve ever seen anything so horrific
    in my life…..

    what the hell do they need to eat dolphins
    for??? and why do they need to use dolphin meat in dog food????
    apparantly they do this every year……do a search in google and you
    can see all about it….then…after they kill the dolphins, they pump
    all that blood back into the sea!
    there is a petition that you can sign here
    although i don’t think online petitions actually do much good…it’s
    still worth signing….and i would send letters of complaint to your
    nearest japanese embassy!

    here is some more information about the dolphin slaughtering

    it’s been a long time since i’ve seen a news clip that actually made me cry. i’m just sickened

Comments (6)

  • I’d rather have dolphins in the sea than dogs on land.

  • [just visiting random xanga pages]

    oh wow.
    & to say i loved living in japan.

  • I’m glad I didn’t see that show.  I don’t linger long on shows showing animal abuse or animal pain.  I just can’t watch it for even a minute. 

  • OMG – that was the worst thing i have ever seen. That was simply awful. Thanks for calling attention to this issue. It is scar to think we do all this work and try and be so aware of companies that use good practices to hunt Tuna so we don’t hurt dolphins and then it all goes down the tubes on this one occasion for some dumb reason! Argghhh!
    Ki

  • This is perfectly horrific . And this makes me think of those babies seals that are horribly killed by humans .
    I agree with you .

    Love    Michel

  • I believe what you’re saying, but I don’t want to go look. I’ve seen sharks bludgeoned to death on the fishing piers of North Carolina, and it bothered me terribly (and they aren’t mammals). Humans can be so incredibly callous to animals, something I’ve learned first hand through dog rescue, especially while working in rescue in Spain, where animals are often tortured as entertainment (you thought Japan was bad, think about doing it for fun rather than for food). I love Spaniards, don’t get me wrong, but there is part of that population–Old Spain–that continues to live by superstition and backwards tradition. Amongst them are the few rescue workers that realize the horrific nature of it and who work so hard to change the culture. Now that we’re back in the States, we volunteer as Zoo Docents, educating the population about conservation. But as you mentioned, it seems nearly impossible to change the Japanese ways of fishing (and over fishing). They just see these animals as food and resources to be used at their disposal. It will take a lot of educating to change them. Given our tendency to ignore animal rights issues, I doubt we’ll take it on with any force to create change any time soon. Sad.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *